lohath.blogg.se

Multiple copies of storyist
Multiple copies of storyist









multiple copies of storyist
  1. #Multiple copies of storyist how to#
  2. #Multiple copies of storyist software#
  3. #Multiple copies of storyist series#

It does what it's advertised to do, and doesn't really try to do page layout like, say, InDesign. In page layout, you don't have to worry about compiling groups of notes into a manuscript. So if you're coming to it without any preconceptions, you understand the metaphor. Shepard: I think that one thing is that it's fairly cleanly laid out. tell me, from your perspective as the author, what are some of the things that set Storyist apart from today's competition? TMO: And Storyist is your full-time day job? So in 2003, I started looking around to see what was cool and hot, and I've been coming since then. When I worked at Apple, WWDC was in a different place. TMO: Since we're here at WWDC, I thought I'd ask you. So I think it fits nicely between the big page layout apps and the the indie apps that are out there. For example, many customers want to see the exact layout of the page as they write. Then again, there are some other apps that are lower priced that just aren't as feature rich as Storyist. I get a lot of customers who are coming over from Windows who say they don't want to buy Microsoft Word again. And I guess the rule is that if no one complains about the price, then it's priced it too low. Shepard: I occasionally get e-mails that suggests a range. do you find that the price point of Storyist, being a little higher than some of the competitors, creates some customer resistance? TMO: Are you willing to tell us how many copies you've sold? But there really wasn't a category of project management for writers, fiction writers specifically. Well, maybe Ulysses was out in an early form. TMO: Did the other apps that I've reviewed exist at the time you started this project? So, rather than go back to high tech, I decided to do the independent developer thing. What I wanted was project management tools to organize all the notes and research and character sketches that accompany a novel or screen play.Īt the end of the year, I decided that there's a need there.

#Multiple copies of storyist how to#

I didn't want tools that taught me how to write because, for better or worse, I thought I knew how to do that. And, looking around, I thought there should be some tools. I was a night and weekend writer since 6th grade, and so I decided it was time to do something for myself. So at the end of that I took a year off to work on something of mine that had been in the drawer for awhile. I joined a spin out of Netscape that got sold, went public, went high, then crashed. Shepard: Well, I worked for Apple for awhile in the 1990s, then I did the Silicon Valley thing.

#Multiple copies of storyist software#

Steve Shepard, Founder, Storyist Software TMO: Tell us how you got into the business of creating novel writing software? Were there precursor apps that you warmed up with? Or is this your first big venture? Storyist 2.0 is due to be shipped on June 18, and WWDC afforded the opportunity to interview Mr.

#Multiple copies of storyist series#

One such program that has not yet been reviewed as part of the series is Storyist, by Steve Shepard of Storyist Software in Sunnyvale, California. Many of our readers know that I have embarked on a marathon review of novel writing software.











Multiple copies of storyist